Posted on 26 July, 2016 in Students, Partnerships

Youth Parliament 2016

Youth Parliament 2016

Over the school break, four Darwin High School students participated in the YMCA’s Youth Parliament.

This program provides an opportunity for participants aged 13-25 from across the NT to engage with community issues as youth representatives in an apolitical environment. In addition, it creates an important link for young Territorians to convey issues of concern to the NT Government.

This year Darwin High students took on the top leadership positions:

  • Senuri Pinto - Chief Minister
  • Aeron Leyesa - Deputy Chief Minister
  • Amelia Douglas - Opposition Leader
  • Zandro Lagman - Deputy Opposition Leader
  • Cindy Um - Deputy Clerk

The participants spent five days at NT Parliament House and debated issues of both national and domestic importance, including the following mock bills: Youth Presumption Against Bail; Diversity and Culture; Decriminalisation of Euthanasia; Tobacco, Alcohol and Other Drugs; and a Social Media Ban Bill.

Students met with high profile politicians and government officials such as Chief Minister Adam Giles MLA, Member for Casuarina Lauren Moss, and His Honour the Honourable John Hardy OAM, Administrator of the Northern Territory.

The students thoroughly enjoyed the experience and we hope to see even more Youth Parliament participants from Darwin High School next year! 

Get updates

Subscribe to receive our school newsletter. It's spam free and you can unsubscribe at any time.

The Compass App

Students and their families are encouraged to download the Darwin High School Compass app to their smart phone/tablet device. Compass app allows you to stay up to date with announcements and events, complete a range of e-forms for student absences and excursions and easily contact us via phone or email direct from the app.

© 2016 Darwin High School. CRICOS Provider: Northern Territory Department of Education, CRICOS Provider Number: 00780M, Course Code Intensive English: 048904G, Course Code Senior Secondary: 058744C

School Web Design by Dash.